Dr. Dan Maydan

Dr. Dan Maydan, Ph.D

Dr. Maydan began his career at the Israel Atomic Energy Commission (IAEC).
He served as the President of Applied Materials (NASDAQ: AMAT) from 1994 to 2003, and a Director from 1992 to 2006, after joining the company in 1980.

Go Back

Dr. Maydan holds over 188 patents. He was recognized as a co-developer of the Applied Materials Precision 5000 system at its induction as the first semiconductor manufacturing system at the Smithsonian Institution, as part of its collection of breakthrough technologies, which have helped shape society and the modern world. In 1994, Dr. Maydan received the first ever “Lifetime Achievement Award” from the Semiconductor Equipment and Materials International (SEMI) organization.

Prior to joining Applied Materials, Dr. Maydan spend 13 years managing new technology development at Bell Laboratories, during which time he pioneered laser recording of data on thin-metal films and made significant advances in photolithography and plasma etch technologies.

Dr. Maydan was recognized as an industry pioneer during the 50th anniversary celebration of the semiconductor industry. Dr. Maydan received the Israel Trade Award from the Israel Ministry of Industry and Trade in 1998. In the same year, he was also awarded the State of Israel Jubilee Award in recognition of his efforts to integrate Israel into the global economy and for realizing its world-class business potential. Dr. Maydan received the 2001 Torch of Liberty Award from the Anti-Defamation League.

Dr. Maydan holds a B.S. and M.S. in Electrical Engineering from the Technion, Israel Institute of Technology, and a Ph.D. in Physics from Edinburgh University in Scotland. He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering., and has been awarded Honorary Doctorates from the Technion, the Israel Institute of Technology and from National Chiao Tung University, in Taiwan. Dr. Maydan was awarded Doctor honoris causa from Edinburgh University in Scotland. In 2005, Dr. Maydan was inducted into the Silicon Valley Engineering Hall of Fame.