Advisory Board

Hon. Andrew C. Weber

Appointed by President Obama, Andy Weber is former Assistant Secretary of Defense for Nuclear, Chemical, and Biological Defense Programs. Mr. Weber has dedicated his professional life to countering nuclear, chemical, and biological threats.

Read More

Scott J. Kelly

Scott Kelly is a retired American astronaut and United States Navy Captain, U.S. spaceflight record holder and an experienced test pilot having logged more than 15,000 hours of flight time in more than 40 different aircraft and spacecraft. A former fighter pilot, Kelly was selected by NASA as an astronaut in 1996.

Read More

Prof. Richard E. Champlin, MD

Prof. Champlin is Chair of the Department of Stem Cell Transplantation and Cellular Therapy at The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center and is one of only three Westerners summoned by the Soviet authorities to treat ARS victims in the aftermath of the Chernobyl disaster.

Read More

Prof. Aaron Ciechanover

Prof. Aaron Ciechanover is a Distinguished Research Professor at the Technion – Israel Institute of Technology in Haifa, Israel. He was awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 2004 for the discovery (together with Drs. Hershko and Rose), of ubiquitin-mediated protein degradation, which has a critical role in maintaining the homeostasis of cells.

Read More

Prof. Roger D. Kornberg

Prof. Roger D. Kornberg is an American biochemist and Professor of Structural Biology at Stanford University School of Medicine. He was awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 2006 “for his studies of the molecular basis of eukaryotic transcription” which explained the process by which genetic information from DNA is copied to RNA.

Read More

Prof. Kenneth R. Kase

Prof. Kase joined StemRad in 2012 as a scientific advisor and is a valuable addition to the team due to his extensive background in the field of health physics. Prof. Kase completed his term as President of the International Radiation Protection Association in May 2012 after having served as the President of the Health Physics Society.

Read More

Prof. Michael Levitt

Prof. Michael Levitt is Professor of Computational Structural Biology at the Stanford University School of Medicine and former Chair of the Department of Structural Biology. He received the 2013 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for “the development of multi-scale models for complex chemical systems.”

Read More

Robert Peter Gale, MD, Ph.D.

Dr. Gale is considered one of the world’s top authorities on the health effects of radiation. In 1986, he was asked by the government of the Soviet Union to coordinate medical relief efforts for victims of the Chernobyl disaster. He later played a key role in the medical relief efforts at the Goiania, Tokaimura and Fukushima accidents.

Read More

Prof. Thomas J. Macvittie

Prof. Thomas J. Macvittie is a professor of radiation oncology and pathology at the University of Maryland School of Medicine. He is a world expert on the hematopoietic and gastrointestinal effects of radiation. He was the principal investigator of the sole research contract ($47million/five years) to assess radiation countermeasures.

Read More

Prof. Benjamin Dekel, MD

Prof. Benjamin Dekel, MD is a senior physician at the Department of Pediatrics and founder and head of the Pediatric Stem Cell Research Institute at the Edmond and Lili Safra Children’s Hospital. He is a world leader in kidney stem cell manipulation, with which he seeks to cure renal disease and combat kidney organ shortage.

Read More

Lt. Col. (ret) Itzhak Mayo, M.Sc

Mr. Mayo joined StemRad as an Astronautics specialist after a storied career in the Israel Air Force (IAF) which lead to his training as payload specialist for NASA. In July 1998, he reported for training at the Johnson Space Center, Houston, alongside first Israeli astronaut, Ilan Ramon. Lt. Col. Mayo has accumulated over 3,250 flight hours on a variety of fixed wing aircraft.

Read More

Mr. Daniel Levitt, BA, MSM

Co-Founder, Board Member & President

Mr. Levitt co-founded StemRad in November 2011. He has over 23 years of senior management experience with start-ups, co-founding six high-tech and life sciences companies. Daniel was the CEO of StemRad until February 2016.

Read More

Mr. Jeff Vinik

Board Member

Jeff Vinik is the Owner and Chairman of the Tampa Bay Lightning of the National Hockey League and serves on the NHL Board of Governors and Executive Committee. In addition, Jeff manages various family investments and oversees the Vinik Family Foundation with his wife, Penny.

Read More

Prof. Sean Lavine, MD

Dr. Sean D. Lavine is a Professor of Neurological Surgery and Radiology at the Columbia University and Clinical Director of Neuroendovascular Services at NewYork Presbyterian Hospital.

Read More
Shop civilian radiation shield
How to buy professional shield